Italy defeated Spain on penalties to advance to the Euro 2020 final

Italy advanced to the final of Euro 2020 after a hard-fought semi-final victory against three-time champions Spain at London’s famous Wembley Stadium, which will also host the summit showdown.

Gianluigi Donnarumma, an Italian goalkeeper, saved Alvaro Morata’s penultimate penalty kick to give his team the win. Jorginho scored the game-winning penalty kick, giving Italy a 4-2 shootout victory. The midfielder finished his run-up with a signature hop before sliding the ball into the bottom corner. The game had ended in a 1-1 tie after extra time. Federico Chiesa scored for Italy in the 60th minute with a curling shot against the run of play, although Spain dominated possession and had several close chances up to that point.


Luis Enrique, who had kept Alvaro Morata on the bench in favor of a fast front three, saw the need for a change and introduced the Juventus forward in the 62nd minute. Morata equalized for Spain in the 80th minute, thanks to an assist from the nimble-footed Dani Olmo, who had been a thorn in Italy’s flesh throughout the game. As luck would have it, both Olmo and Morata fluffed their lines in the penalty shootout as the Italians made up for their Euro quarter-final loss to Spain on penalties in 2008.

At halftime, Italy and Spain were tied at 0-0, with neither team able to create clear-cut chances. Dani Olmo of Spain came the closest to scoring, but Italy goalie Donnarumma easily saved his close-range attempt. In the 15th minute, La Roja had another golden chance when winger Ferran Torres’ effort from outside the area flew wide of the near post.

At the stroke of half-time, Emerson hit the crossbar, giving Italy one last chance. Mikel Oyarzabal, who began in place of Morata for Spain, wasted two good chances in either half. While Italy stood firm in the face of adversity and defended resolutely, Spain’s lack of elegance in the final third cost them a place in the tournament final.

On Sunday, Italy will face either England or Denmark in the final at Wembley Stadium.