FIFA World Cup: The Golden Ball Award winners

The Golden Ball Award is one of the most prestigious awards in the FIFA World Cup. It is handed to the best payer of the tournament. Let’s have a look at the winners of this esteemed award.

The best player of the FIFA World Cup normally gets this award named The Golden Ball award by a shortlist prepared by the FIFA technical committee and the winner decided by media representatives. The award was first granted in 1982 Officially. There were no Global Ball Award recipients from 1938 to 1950 because the FIFA World Cup did not occur during this timeline due to World War 2.

Luke Modric from Croatian was the last footballer to receive this award in 2018. Luke Modric is a professional Footballer who Captains the Croatia National Team and plays as a midfielder for Real Madrid. He is known as one of the best midfielders of all time. He has also been honored as the Real Madrid Player of the Season: 2020-21. Modric was Captain of the 2018 FIFA World Cup runner-up Croatia Team. He had an immense contribution in carrying the team to the finals.

Some other honors that are awarded are:

“The Golden Boot Award” is rewarded to the tournament’s top goal scorer.

 “The best young player award” is granted to the best players under 21.

“Golden Gloves award” is awarded to the tournament’s best goalkeeper.

Here’s a list of Golden Ball Award winners:

Year Global Ball Award Winners Country
2018 Luka Modric Croatia
2014 Lionel Messi


2010 Diego Forlán Uruguay
2006 Zinedine Zidane France


Oliver Kahn Germany
1998 Ronaldo Brazil
1994 Romário (Romário de Souza Faria) Brazil
1990 Salvatore Schillaci Italy
1986 Diego Maradona Argentina
1982 Paolo Rossi Italy
1978 Mario Kempes Argentina
1974 Johan Cruyff Netherlands
1970 Pelé Brazil
1966 Bobby Charlton England
1962 Garrincha Brazil
1958 Didi Brazil
1954 Ferenc Puskás Hungary
1950 Zizinho


1938 Leônidas Brazil
1934 Giuseppe Meazza Italy
1930 José Nasazzi Uruguay
Subscribe to our newsletter
Subscribe to our newsletter
Sign up here to get the latest news delivered directly to your inbox.
You can unsubscribe at any time