Bayern Munich seal 10th consecutive Bundesliga title

Bayern Munich beat Dortmund to clinch the title.

Bayern Munich has won the Bundesliga for the tenth time in a row after defeating Borussia Dortmund 3-1 in the Der Klassiker on Saturday. With only nine points remaining to play for, the result gave Bayern a 12-point advantage, ensuring that the German crown would remain in Bavaria for at least another year.
Bayern managed to take the lead in the first half through goals from Serge Gnabry in the 15th minute and Robert Lewandowski in the 34th minute. Dortmund did manage to get a goal back from the penalty spot through Emre Can in the 52nd minute, however, substitute Jamal Musiala made it 3-1 in the 83rd minute and sealed it for the defending champions.
In Bundesliga history, it is the first time that a single team has won ten consecutive titles. Since the modern period began in 1963 before this Bayern team’s run the record was only three. That mark was set by Bayern sides from the 1970s and 1980s, as well as Borussia Monchengladbach. The current run began with the Bundesliga title in 2012/13 when they reclaimed their throne from a Jurgen Klopp led Borussia Dortmund and started their domestic dominance.
In his first season in command and at the age of 34, Julian Nagelsmann became the sixth different coach to manage one of the ten titles, following Jupp Heynckes, Pep Guardiola, Carlo Ancelotti, Niko Kovac, and Hansi Flick.

Subscribe to our newsletter
Subscribe to our newsletter
Sign up here to get the latest news delivered directly to your inbox.
You can unsubscribe at any time