Barcelona’s Alexia Putellas wins “Best FIFA Women’s Player” & Hayes “ Best FIFA Women’s Coach” for 2021

Barcelona midfielder Alexia grabs the “Best FIFA Women’s Player” while the Chelsea boss Hayes clinched the “ Best FIFA Women’s Coach” for the year 2021

Barcelona and Spain midfielder Alexia Putellas has been awarded the “Best FIFA Women’s Player” of the year and Chelsea boss Emma Hayes grabs the title of “ Best FIFA Women’s Coach” for team Chelsea.

Alexia Putellas is now recorded as the player with the highest individual awards in world football, having won the recent Ballon d’Or. Having won their domestic double, Barcelona also won their first-ever Women’s Champions League.


Hayes for Chelsea led a tremendous job taking the Chelsea club to the English league title and also to the finals of the Champions League.

The top 3 short-listed nominees for “ The Best FIFA Women’s Player” were Jenni Hermoso from Barcelona, Australian and Chelsea club player Sam Keer and the winner herself Alexia Patellas

Alexia played well for her domestic club Barcelona, having contributed in the 4-0 Finals win against Chelsea, achieving the Women’s Super League Cup.

Hayes for Chelsea has led the team to clinch back-to-back WSL titles, they’re third in 4 years. Hayes also managed to win the Women’s FA Cup and League Cup also took the Blues out for their first Women’s Champions League final.

Coach Hayes expressed her emotions,  feeling “stumped” after having won the “ Best FIFA Women’s Coach”. She credited the “brilliant player” around her who made this achievement possible and seems delighted with the win. Both the coaches for club Chelsea have achieved the “ Best FIFA Coach” awards, as Tuchel grabs in the men’s category and Hayes clinched in the women’s category.

The FifPro World Women’s XI has been announced –

Christiane Endler (PSG/Lyon/Chile)

Lucy Bronze (Man City/England)

Millie Bright (Chelsea/England)

Magdalena Eriksson (Chelsea/Sweden) Wendie Renard (Lyon/France)

Estefania Banini (Levante/Atletico Madrid/Argentina)

Barbara Bonansea (Juventus/Italy)

Carli Lloyd (NY/NJ Gotham/USA)

Marta (Orlando Pride/Brazil)

Vivianne Miedema (Arsenal/Netherlands), Alex Morgan (Tottenham/Orlando Pride/San Diego Wave/USA).