Rani Rampal announced as Indian women’s hockey team captain for Tokyo Olympics

Indian Hockey team announced striker Rani Rampal as skipper and Deep Grace Ekka and Savita as two vice-captains of the national women’s hockey team for the upcoming Tokyo Olympics which is starting from 23rd July to August 8.  The hockey team announced a 16-member team for the Tokyo Games but refrained from naming the captain although it was more or less certain that Rani would command the side.

Rani Rampal stated in an issue by Hockey India, “It is a huge honour to lead the Indian team at the Olympic Games. In these past years, my role as a captain was made easy with teammates who have shared the responsibilities as senior players.” Under Rani’s command, India had won the Asia Cup 2017, a silver medal at the Asian Games in 2018 as well as won the FIH Series final in 2019.


Chief coach Sjoerd Marjine said, “I congratulate Rani on being named captain of the Indian women’s hockey team for the Olympic Game. I also congratulate Deep Grace Ekka and Savita. These three players have been part of the leadership group for a long time and have proven their abilities with this added responsibility and have guided many youngsters in the core group.” The Spaniard further said, “having two vice-captains will also strengthen the core leadership group for the future. Their experience and role will be of importance as we aim to achieve good results in Tokyo.”