Indian men’s hockey team name 30 member group for national coaching camp starts October 4

Indian hockey team select a 30 member squad for the national coaching camp.

The announcement came on Saturday that the 30 men group of players will be part of the senior men’s national coaching camp which will begin at the sports authority of India (SAI) in Bangalore from October 4.

After a successful campaign of the Indian team at the Tokyo Olympics where India won a bronze medal and ended a 41-year wait to win a hockey medal for India. Hockey India announced a 30 member senior national camp on Saturday speaking about the camp, chief coach Graham Reid said: “The players are coming off a long and well-deserved break. I believe they will be excited to be back in the national camp and refocus on our goals for next year”. He then further emphasized that the players must leave the success of Tokyo behind and move forward and start fresh ahead of the hectic season in 2022.


The coaching camp is set to begin in October in the city of Bangalore where the core group selected is comprised of both young and senior players like PR Sreejesh, Krishna Bahadur Pathak, Suraj Karkera, Harmanpreet Singh, Dilpreet Singh, Surender Kumar, Gurinder Singh, Amit Rohidas and Manpreet Singh.

As more prominent names missed out in the likes of Ramandeep Singh, Chinglensena Singh and Koyhajit Singh as there is more retirement news to be expected from the Indian hockey national team with the likes of Birendra Lakra and Rupinder pal already announcing their retirement.