WTC 2021-2023: India will host New Zealand, Sri Lanka and Australia & tour England, South Africa & Bangladesh

India is again not going to play Pakistan in the second term of the World Test Championship with three away tours rounded up in the coming two years which will next month start with England series.

All the nine countries on the World Test Championship calendar will play against six countries of their choice according to the ordinance. India to play Sri Lanka rather than West Indies against whom they played in 2017 at the time of inaugural edition.


While the Five-Test series against England kicks off India’s WTC campaign at the start of August 4, they will also tour South Africa between the period of December 2021 to January 2022 following an away series against neighbourhood country Bangladesh in 2022 of November.

Other than England away Tests, the gigantic series will be the marquee four Tests with an opponent Australia at home in-between the period of September and initial November of next year. India will be hosting New Zealand in November of this year following two Test matches and Sri Lanka will be hosted next year in 2022 on February-March after the South Africa away tour.

The teams will also be conferred standardised  12 points for a victory, four points for a draw and six for a tie during the second cycle confirmed ICC on Wednesday, officially. They added further that the percentage of points earned will be used to specify the standings.