WPL 2023: Gujarat Giants vs Mumbai Indians: Male cheerleader spotted in first WPL match

WPL – The first edition features six teams: Gujarat Giants, Mumbai Indians Women, UP Warriorz, Delhi Capitals, and Royal Challengers Bangalore. The structure will be similar to that of the Men’s Indian Premier League (IPL). The tournament will begin with round robins, in which each team will face each other at least once in their home stadium, followed by Eliminator and the TATA WPL 2023 final on March 26th.

Mumbai Indians were allowed to bat first after Gujarat Giants skipper Mooney opted to bowl first in the season opener of this inaugural season of Women’s Premier League.


Fans were astonished when a male cheerleader was recognised cheerleading during the inaugural season of the WPL.

This initiative by the BCCI and WPL management has had a positive impact on the viewers as well as the cheerleading profession, which is still not considered a reputable profession in India.