World Cup squad: Australia pick 15-man squad | Business Upturn

World Cup squad: Australia pick 15-man squad

Five-time champions Australia have unveiled their final 15-player squad for the upcoming ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup. The team initially named an 18-player preliminary squad last month but has now narrowed it down to 15 players in preparation for the event in India, which is less than a month away.

Among the players who didn’t make the final cut are all-rounder Aaron Hardie, pacer Nathan Ellis, and young spinner Tanveer Sangha. The selectors opted for experience in the majority of their final 15. Test star Marnus Labuschagne is also left out of the squad.


Fast bowler Pat Cummins will lead the side, with seasoned pacers Josh Hazlewood and Mitchell Starc providing support with the new ball. Sean Abbott was preferred over Ellis as the backup pacer. Ashton Agar and Adam Zampa are the spinning options.

The batting lineup features David Warner, Steve Smith, and Travis Head in the top order. All-rounders Mitchell Marsh, Glenn Maxwell, Marcus Stoinis, and Cameron Green provide depth. Alex Carey and Josh Inglis are the two wicketkeepers, with Carey as the preferred choice.

Australia is currently in South Africa for a five-game ODI series against the Proteas before heading to the subcontinent for a three-match ODI series against India. The team will play warm-up fixtures against the Netherlands and Pakistan before the World Cup officially begins, with their first match against hosts India in Chennai on October 8.

Selection chair George Bailey is optimistic that all 15 players will recover from their injuries and be fit for the series against India, which precedes the final squad submission to the ICC on September 28.

Australia’s World Cup squad:

– Pat Cummins (c)
– Steve Smith
– Alex Carey
– Josh Inglis
– Sean Abbott
– Ashton Agar
– Cameron Green
– Josh Hazlewood
– Travis Head
– Mitch Marsh
– Glenn Maxwell
– Marcus Stoinis
– David Warner
– Adam Zampa
– Mitchell Starc