"Why everybody has forgotten about Mohammed Shami," Aakash Chopra questions BCCI selectors | Business Upturn

“Why everybody has forgotten about Mohammed Shami,” Aakash Chopra questions BCCI selectors


Although Jasprit Bumrah and Harshal Patel were forced to withdraw from the event due to injuries, Mohammed Shami’s exclusion from the squad was the biggest surprise. Notably, Jasprit Bumrah and Harshal Patel’s injuries have forced them to be ruled out of this tournament. Shreyas Iyer, Axar Patel, and Deepak Chahar will be travelling with the squad as the standby players.

When talking about Shami’s exclusion on Hotstar, Aakash Chopra claimed he couldn’t understand the decision.

“Why everybody has forgotten about Mohammed Shami is beyond me. He has performed well, his IPL numbers are great. I think if it was a race between Avesh Khan and Mohammed Shami, I will go with Mohammed Shami with my eyes closed. Nothing against Avesh, but I feel that Shami should have been given a chance with the new ball in the absence of a Jasprit Bumrah,” said Aakash Chopra.


BCCI has officially announced their squad for the upcoming Asia Cup 2022. Rohit Sharma will be leading the side without any doubt, and KL Rahul will be his deputy. Virat Kohli has been named back in the squad after a long time while Shreyas Iyer will be going as a standby player. Deepak Hooda, Dinesh Karthik, Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja and Rishabh Pant will be the middle-order choices while Suryakumar Yadav will assist the other 3 senior members – Rohit, Kohli, KL, in their top-order survival.

The bowling department consists of Ravichandran Ashwin, Yuzvendra Chahal, Ravi Bishnoi, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Avesh Khan, and young talent Arshdeep Singh.

Squad: Rohit Sharma (c), KL Rahul, Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav, Rishabh Pant, Dinesh Karthik, Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, R. Ashwin, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Arshdeep Singh, Ravi Bishnoi, Avesh Khan, Deepak Hooda, Yuzvendra Chahal


Stand by players: Shreyas Iyer, Axar Patel, Deepak Chahar