West Indies defeats Australia to win the T20I series by 4-1

Man-of-the-Match Lewis smashed 79 runs off 34 balls, including nine sixes.


In the last Twenty20 encounter on Friday, West Indies stand-in skipper Nicholas Pooran won his first toss of the series and chose to bat against Australia. Then opener Evin Lewis showed his power hitting. Man-of-the-Match Lewis smashed 79 runs off 34 balls, including nine sixes, to put the Caribbean team on the verge of winning the fourth T20I match in five-match series. Despite a late collapse, the West Indies reached their highest total in the series, 199 for eight.

In response, Australia finished with a score of 183-9, giving the home team a 16-run victory. The visitors lost two wickets for five runs including captain Aaron Finch, who was removed for 34 by Fabian Allen’s superb one-handed diving catch at long-on.

For the West Indies, Andre Russell and Sheldon Cottrell both grabbed three wickets.

Pooran added 31 to Lewis’ outstanding batting performance, and the West Indies were 168-4 when they fell 4-25 to the home side before tailender Hayden Walsh Jr. smashed a six to end the innings. Andrew Tye made his first outing of the tour and finished with 3-37, while Adam Zampa and Mitch Marsh each took two wickets.

Australia made four changes after winning the fourth match after losing the previous three. Mitchell Swepson, a leg-spinner, was also picked for his maiden game on tour, while Josh Hazlewood and Josh Philippe were all recalled. Mitchell Starc was benched, as were Riley Meredith, Dan Christian, and Ashton Turner.

The teams will now compete in three one-day internationals at Barbados’ Bridgetown. The first match will take place on Tuesday.

Subscribe to our newsletter
Subscribe to our newsletter
Sign up here to get the latest news delivered directly to your inbox.
You can unsubscribe at any time