Vijay Hazare Trophy: Sheldon Jackson overshadows Ruturaj’s innings as Saurashtra dominate the finals

At the Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad, Saurashtra defeated Maharashtra by five wickets to win the Vijay Hazare Trophy. Opening batsman Sheldon Jackson smashed an impressive unbeaten century.

Ruturaj Gaikwad, the outstanding batsman and captain of Maharashtra, batted first and hit yet another century, which helped keep his team’s innings together. The squad could only reach a total of 248/9 in 50 overs because no other batter was able to go on to score even a half-century. With three wickets, Chirag Jani was Saurashtra’s standout bowler.


Jackson, a seasoned player on the domestic circuit, had not been in great shape during the competition, but on the big day, he made his experience pay by remaining composed to lead his side home with 21 balls to spare. Harvik Desai, Jackson’s opening partner, also scored fifty-six runs. This is Saurashtra’s second victory over the Vijay Hazare Trophy.