Sunil Gavaskar supports KS Bharat as wicketkeeper in team India’s XI for WTC Final

As the much-anticipated World Test Championship (WTC) final between India and Australia approaches, legendary Indian cricketer Sunil Gavaskar has weighed in on the selection of Team India’s playing XI for the prestigious match. Gavaskar, known for his astute cricketing insights, has expressed his support for wicketkeeper-batter KS Bharat to take the gloves in the absence of the injured Rishabh Pant and KL Rahul.

Replacing an accomplished player like Rishabh Pant behind the stumps is no easy task, especially in a crucial game like the WTC final. KS Bharat, who stepped in as Pant’s replacement during the ongoing edition of the ICC World Test Championship, has faced challenges in securing his position as India’s first-choice wicketkeeper. With Pant and Rahul ruled out due to injuries, the team management has added Ishan Kishan to the squad for the summit clash against Australia.


Sunil Gavaskar, in his analysis of the upcoming clash, has put forth his preferred XI for Team India in the WTC final against Australia. Gavaskar has selected the talented Shubman Gill as the opening partner for skipper Rohit Sharma, with the experienced Cheteshwar Pujara and the prolific Virat Kohli occupying the crucial No. 3 and No. 4 batting positions, respectively.

Gavaskar acknowledges that there is a slight concern at the No. 6 position in the batting order. The question arises whether KS Bharat, who has been keeping wickets for India throughout the Border-Gavaskar Trophy, will retain his spot. Gavaskar, settling the debate, indicates his preference for Bharat over Ishan Kishan, considering Bharat’s consistent presence in the team and the valuable experience he brings to the table.

Highlighting the reasons behind his support for KS Bharat, Gavaskar points out that Bharat’s continuity in the playing XI throughout the series has been a topic of discussion among cricket enthusiasts. The former cricketer believes that Bharat’s involvement in all the matches so far warrants his selection for the crucial No. 6 spot in the batting lineup. Gavaskar’s confidence in Bharat’s abilities as both a wicketkeeper and a batsman makes him the favored choice for the position.

Turning his attention to the pace bowling attack, Gavaskar suggests that the talented Shardul Thakur can complement the duo of Mohammad Shami and Mohammed Siraj in the final. He further emphasizes that Ravindra Jadeja should occupy the No. 7 position in the batting order. In case of favorable conditions, Gavaskar envisions a lineup featuring Jadeja and Ravichandran Ashwin at No. 7 and No. 8, respectively. Mohammad Shami, Mohammed Siraj, and possibly Shardul Thakur would then complete the lower order.