Sune Luus to lead South Africa women’s team in Lucknow


India finally opts to test the bench while resting Deepti Sharma and Poonam Yadav respectively. Sune Luus has returned from illness to lead SA after missing the previous games. She will be bowling first on Wednesday, in Lucknow.

Currently each ODI has been won by the chasing side. South Africa retained many players in it’s 18 player squad which recently won the T20 series and ODI against Pakistan last month. Tryon and Van Niekerk not being part of the previous matches. India currently 3-1 down in the series, and have to find balance between winning and giving the youngsters a chance to show their skills.

SA made two major changes. Luus returns in place of Lizelle Lee, and Nadine de Klerk replacing Ayabonga Khaka.

The squad:

India: Mithali Raj (captain), Harmanpreet Kaur, Smriti Mandhana, Punam Raut, Sushma Verma (wk), C Pratyusha, D Hemalatha, Priya Punia, Jhulan Goswami, Rajeshwari Gayakwad, Monica Patel

South Africa: Sune Luus (captain), Laura Wolvaardt, Mignon du Preez, Lara Goodall, Anneke Bosch, Marizane Kapp, Sinalo Jafta (wk), Shabnim Ismail, Nadine de Klerk, Nondumiso Shangase, Tumi Sekhukhune