Sri Lanka Cricket requests BCCI to start the tour with the shortest format first

The series between India and Sri Lanka is preferred to change as SLC requests BCCI to play the T20 games first

The upcoming series between India and Sri Lanka was scheduled to start with 2 Test games which were supposed to follow by 3-match T20I series. SLC requested BCCI to start with the 3-match T20I series first and then play the longest format in cricket later.

As per the TNN reports, A high-post BCCI official has quoted that Sri Lanka will be playing the T20I series against Australia before starting the series against India, therefore it will be easier for them to send the T20I first as the team might already be in the bubble.


BCCI has not come out with any official statement, but if the requests from the SLC are to be approved then it might give BCCI some time to select the Test match venues as the COVID-19 across the country is still a barrier. The T20Is were supposed to play in Mohali, Dharamshala, and Lucknow, and the longest format series of two games were set to play in Bengaluru and Mohali.

The West Indies series, which is approaching near, has forced the Indian Cricket Team management and BCCI to limit the venues, keeping in mind the COVID-19 situation across the country. The West Indies series will be hosted by just two cities – Ahmedabad and Kolkata, as the games will be played in the Narendra Modi Stadium and Eden Gardens respectively.

BCCI spread its game to excite the fans with the opportunity of live international matches, almost in every state, but the COVID-19 seems to limit the venues as the health and safety of the fans as well as the players is equally and crucially important.

Indian Premier League, the cricketing festival in India is likely to begin from March-end and with two teams getting added on, it will be difficult for BCCI to manage the venues, as last year’s plan was failed and the league was shifted to UAE yet again.

Apart from IPL, India has a packed schedule of 2022, as after West Indies and Sri Lanka, India will be playing with – New Zealand, Afghanistan, South Africa, England, West Indies, Bangladesh, and yet again Sri Lanka. In between the international tours, India along with other international teams will be playing in Asia Cup and ICC Men’s T20 World Cup.