Shreyas Iyer joins Mumbai Ranji team days after BCCI axed cricketer from annual contract 

Shreyas Iyer has returned to action, joining the Mumbai Ranji team just days after being omitted from the BCCI contracts list. Despite the setback, Mumbai’s seasoned cricketer is gearing up to contribute to his team’s success in the upcoming matches.

Shreyas Iyer, the seasoned Mumbai cricketer, was unable to participate in the team’s quarterfinal match against Baroda due to back pain, as confirmed by team captain Ajinkya Rahane. Despite this setback, Rahane expressed excitement about Iyer’s presence in the upcoming semifinal match.


Rahane, speaking to the press at the BKC Ground, praised Iyer’s consistent contributions to the Mumbai team and expressed confidence in his performance against Tamil Nadu. “He’s an experienced player, and whenever he’s played for Mumbai, his contribution has been remarkable. We are thrilled to have him in our team for the semifinal,” Rahane stated.

Also Read: Ishan Kishan and Shreyas Iyer left out from BCCI Annual Contracts, is the message clear?

Regarding his own recent struggles on the field, Rahane remained optimistic, emphasizing the importance of remaining positive during lean periods. “It’s just a phase, and you have to respect it. When you’re batting well, it happens consistently. There’s nothing wrong with my batting. I just have to remain positive and back my game and instinct,” he explained.

Rahane emphasized the need to bat freely to regain his form, acknowledging the importance of confidence and adaptability in overcoming challenges. “I just have to go out there and play freely. As a player, you have to be confident and respect a phase, move forward, and learn whatever you can,” he concluded.

List of contracted players for 2023-24:

Grade A+: Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli, Jasprit Bumrah and Ravindra Jadeja.

Grade A: R Ashwin, Mohd. Shami, Mohd. Siraj, KL Rahul, Shubman Gill and Hardik Pandya.

Grade B: Surya Kumar Yadav, Rishabh Pant, Kuldeep Yadav, Axar Patel and Yashasvi Jaiswal.

Grade C: Rinku Singh, Tilak Verma, Ruturaj Gaekwad, Shardul Thakur, Shivam Dube, Ravi Bishnoi, Jitesh Sharma, Washington Sundar, Mukesh Kumar, Sanju Samson, Arshdeep Singh, KS Bharat, Prasidh Krishna, Avesh Khan and Rajat Patidar.

Fast Bowling contracts: Akash Deep, Vijaykumar Vyshak, Umran Malik, Yash Dayal and Vidwath Kaverappa.