Shimron Hetmyer, Sheldon Cottrell & Rostan Chase are back in West Indies ODI squad against Australia

The trio Shimron Hetmyer, Sheldon Cottrell and Rostan Chase are back in the West Indies ODI squad against the series against Australia. These three players weren’t included in the Sri Lanka series in March due to poor fitness standards. But now they are named in the West Indies’s 15-man squad for the upcoming ODI series against Australia.

The West Indies squad: Kieren Pollard (c), Shai Hope (VC), Fabian Allen, Darren Bravo, Roston Chase, Sheldon Cottrell, Shimron Hetmyer, Jason Holder, Akeal Hosein, Alzarri Joseph, Evin Lewis, Jason Mohammad Anderson Philip, Nicholas Pooran, Romario Shepherd.


The Australian squad: Aaron Finch (c), Aston Turner, Ben McDermott, Aston Agar, Dan Christian, Mitchell Marsh, Moises Henriques, Nathan Ellas, Alex Carey (wk), Josh Philippe (wk), Mathew Wade (wk), Adam Zampa, Andrew Tye, Jason Behrendoff, Josh Hazlewood, Mitchell Starc, Mitchell Swepson, Riley Meredith, Tanveer Sangha, Wes Agar.

As quoted by the lead selector, Roger Harper said, “This squad is coming off a comprehensive series win against Sri Lanka which should boost their confidence going into what is expected to be a tougher contest against Australia. The return of Shimron Hetmyer, Roston Chase, and Sheldon Cottrell adds greater depth and experience to the squad.”

The three-match ODI series, which is a part of the ICC World Cup Super League and follows the five-match T20I series, will be played from July 20 at Kensington Oval in Barbados.