Rohit Sharma to captain team India in WTC Final, joining elite list of Indian leaders in ICC Finals

Rohit Sharma is set to become the fifth Indian cricketer to captain Team India in a summit clash of an ICC event as he leads the team in the World Test Championship final at The Oval on Wednesday, June 7. Notably, the legendary MS Dhoni holds the record for leading the team in the most ICC finals, having won three out of four finals under his captaincy.

The first Indian captain to lead the team in an ICC final was Kapil Dev, who guided India to a historic victory in the 1983 ODI World Cup against the West Indies. Virat Kohli, the dynamic right-handed batsman, has shouldered the responsibility of leading the team on two occasions – the 2017 ICC Champions Trophy final and the ICC World Test Championship final in the 2019-2021 cycle.


As the highly anticipated WTC final against Australia approaches, Rohit Sharma will add his name to the exclusive list of Indian leaders in ICC finals. Leading the team at The Oval, he will aim to bring an end to India’s decade-long trophy drought in ICC events, with their last triumph coming in the ICC Champions Trophy in 2013.

Under Rohit Sharma’s captaincy, Team India is gearing up to face Australia in the thrilling WTC final at The Oval in London. The team will be eager to showcase their skills and claim victory in the prestigious tournament, adding another milestone to Indian cricket’s illustrious history.