Rohit Sharma, the captain of the Indian cricket team, couldn’t hide his disbelief and frustration as a moment of confusion and debate marred the Day 4 action of the WTC Finals. It all unfolded when Indian opener Shubman Gill was dismissed amidst controversy after Cameron Green took a stunning catch at gully.
However, upon closer examination from different camera angles, doubts emerged regarding the legitimacy of the catch. Replays suggested that Green might have touched the ground while completing the catch, which should have resulted in a not-out decision. Unfortunately for India, after a thorough review by the third umpire, Gill was eventually given out.
The dismissal came as a significant blow to India, who were already facing the daunting task of chasing a challenging target of 403 runs to win the WTC Finals 2023.
It was once again Scott Boland who claimed Gill’s wicket, skillfully maintaining a good line and length around the off stump. Gill, in an attempt to defend a delivery that kicked up unexpectedly, ended up edging the ball to Green at gully. The fielder showcased exceptional reflexes to complete the catch, but the controversial nature of the decision left both Rohit Sharma and Gill surprised.