Ravichandran Ashwin finishes as leading wicket-taker in WTC 2019-21 period

Indian off-spinner Ravichandran Ashwin ended the 2019-21 World Test Championship (WTC) period as the leading wicket-taker with 71 scalps to his credit. The off-spinner achieved the feat during the World Test Championship final against the Blackcaps, which was his 14th Test in this cycle of WTC. His 71st victim was New Zealand opener, Devon Conway.

Ashwin picked up two wickets each in the first innings with two wickets – 28 runs and two wickets – 17 runs on second innings in the final. Kane Williamson led New Zealand to win the first World Test Championship after defeating India by eight wickets. Ashwin ended up with four five-wicket hauls in the WTC with seven for 145 being his best in an innings. He also scored 324 runs with a century to boot.


Australian pacer Pat Cummins with 70 wickets to his name from 14 tests finished second on the list, while English speedster Stuart Broad holds the third spot on the list with 69 wickets from 17 Tests. After Stuart, New Zealand pacer Tim Southee and Australian spinner Nathan Lyon, both had 56 wickets to their names in this cycle and they hold the fourth spot in the list. Ashwin’s brilliant all-round performance against England at his home, Chennai and Motera Stadium, Ahmedabad, earlier this year helped him to become the leading wicket-taker in the World Test Championship cycle of 2019-21.