Ranji Trophy 2023-24 format and divisional structure unveiled | Business Upturn

Ranji Trophy 2023-24 format and divisional structure unveiled

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) has announced the schedule for the upcoming domestic cricket season (2023-24), and the highly anticipated Ranji Trophy will kick off on January 5, 2024. This premier first-class competition will span 70 days, concluding on March 14, with the league stage ending on February 19 and the knockout matches commencing on February 23.

In the Ranji Trophy, there will also be two divisions: Elite and Plate. The Elite division will consist of four groups with eight teams each, while the Plate division will have one group comprising six teams. An Elite team will have the opportunity to play up to 10 multi-day matches, including seven league games, followed by the quarterfinals, semifinal, and the final. Unlike the white-ball competitions, there will be no integration of Elite and Plate teams during the Ranji Trophy knockout stage.


The top two teams from each of the four Elite groups will directly qualify for the quarterfinals, with matchups determined as follows: A1 vs. C2, B1 vs. D2, C1 vs. A2, and D1 vs. B2. In the Plate division, the top four teams will compete in the semifinals using the traditional format of No. 1 vs. No. 4 and No. 2 vs. No. 3. Notably, the finalists in the Plate group will be promoted to the Elite Group in the following 2024-25 season, while the bottom two teams from all the Elite Groups (A/B/C/D & E), based on points, bonus points, wins, and quotient, will be relegated to the Plate Group.