Prominent players join Global T20 Canada’s third edition

The Global T20 Canada is set to make a comeback after a four-year hiatus, and cricket fans can look forward to seeing some of the sport’s biggest names in action. The tournament, scheduled to take place from July 20 to August 6 in Ontario, has attracted star players like Andre Russell, Chris Gayle, Shakib al Hasan, and Mohammad Rizwan.

The league has undergone significant changes since its last edition. The Winnipeg Hawks, the previous champions, will not participate this time, and the Edmonton Royals are also absent. In their place, the Surrey Jaguars and Mississauga Panthers have joined the league. Each team will consist of two marquee players, three Canadian players from the national side, and three emerging Canadian players. A total of 25 matches will be played over the course of 18 days.


The return of the Global T20 Canada adds to an already packed cricket calendar that includes multiple T20 leagues. It will coincide with Pakistan’s two-Test series against Sri Lanka in July, with 14 Pakistani players selected across the six franchises. The Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) has clarified that players chosen for the Test series will not participate in the GT20.

The league’s first two seasons took place in 2018 and 2019, but due to payment disputes and the COVID-19 pandemic, the third edition was delayed for the next three years. The upcoming edition promises to reignite the excitement and thrill of T20 cricket in Canada.

Let’s take a closer look at some of the squads and the players they have selected:

Surrey Jaguars: The team boasts players like Alex Hales, Iftikhar Ahmed, Jason Behrendorff, Liton Das, Karim Janat, Mohammad Haris, and Sandeep Lamichhane.

Mississauga Panthers: Shoaib Malik, Chris Gayle, Azam Khan, James Neesham, Cameron Delport, Shahnawaz Dahani, and Tom Cooper are among the key players for this franchise.

Brampton Wolves: The team has secured the services of Harbhajan Singh, Colin de Grandhomme, Tim Southee, Mark Chapman, Usama Mir, Hussain Talat, Usman Khan, Logan van Beek, Jan Nocolas Frylinck, and Max O’Dowd.

Vancouver Knights: Mohammad Rizwan, Rassie van der Dussen, Naveen ul Haq, Reeza Hendricks, Corbin Bosch, Najibullah Zadran, Kartik Meiyappan, and Ruben Trumpelmann will feature for this side.

Montreal Tigers: The franchise boasts a star-studded lineup that includes Shakib al Hasan, Andre Russell, Chris Lynn, Shrefane Rutherford, Carlos Brathwaite, Abbas Afridi, and Zahir Khan.

Toronto Nationals: Colin Munro, Shahid Afridi, Fazalhaq Farooqi, Zaman Khan, Saim Ayub, Abdullah Shafique, and Gerhard Erasmus are among the notable players representing this team.