PCB appoints Shadab Khan as T20 captain as team announced for Afghanistan series

All-rounder Shadab Khan was chosen to captain the team in place of regular skipper Babar Azam, who has been given a rest by the Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB), in the three-match T20 series against Afghanistan.

The announcement was made by Chief Selector Haroon Rashid and PCB Managing Committee Chair Najam Sethi, who stated that the squad was finalized with the team’s future goals in mind.


Ihsanullah, Saim Ayub, Tayyab Tahir, and Zaman Khan are the four uncapped players in the team, which will be captained by all-rounder Shadab Khan. Abdullah Shafique, Azam Khan, Faheem Ashraf, and Imad Wasim have been called up.

Asif Ali, Haider Ali, Mohammad Hasnain, and Khushdil Shah have been dropped, while Pakistan’s captain Babar Azam, Fakhar Zaman, Haris Rauf, Mohammad Rizwan, and Shaheen Shah Afridi have been rested. These nine athletes competed for Pakistan in the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2022 in Australia, where they advanced to the championship game.

Players from the previous T20I series who have been retained include Iftikhar Ahmed, Mohammad Haris, Mohammad Nawaz, Mohammad Wasim Junior, Naseem Shah, and Shan Masood in addition to Shadab.


  • Shadab Khan (captain)
  • Abdullah Shafique
  • Azam Khan
  • Faheem Ashraf
  • Iftikhar Ahmed
  • Ihsanullah
  • Imad Wasim
  • Mohammad Haris
  • Mohammad Nawaz
  • Mohammad Wasim Junior
  • Naseem Shah
  • Saim Ayub
  • Shan Masood
  • Tayyab Tahir
  • Zaman Khan

The three-match series will be played between March 24 and 27 in Sharjah.