Matthew Wade to Lead Australia in T20 Tour of India

Australia has announced Matthew Wade as the captain for their upcoming Twenty20 tour of India in November and December. The decision comes as Mitch Marsh, who previously led the T20 side during the South African tour, is set to return home after the Cricket World Cup.

Notably, several senior players, including test captain Pat Cummins, Cameron Green, and fast bowlers Mitchell Starc and Josh Hazlewood, will miss the tour.


They are scheduled to prepare for a three-test series against Pakistan starting on December 14 in Perth. The Australian squad, led by Wade, comprises a mix of experienced players and rising talents.

Wade, known for his leadership skills, will guide the team in this crucial series, supported by players like Josh Inglis, Sean Abbott, Travis Head, Glenn Maxwell, Marcus Stoinis, and Adam Zampa, all of whom have extensive experience in playing in India.

Additionally, David Warner and Steve Smith, who missed the South African T20 series, have also been selected, making the Australian squad a formidable force for the upcoming matches in India.