List of ICC T20 World Cup winners (2007-2021)

ICC T20 World Cup is a format that was introduced in 2007 and the tournament is played among 10 nations and the format is the most popular among the youngsters as it involves a fast hard-hitting games and keeps the spectators engaged in a short format of the game.

The new format of T20 was introduced in 2003 and the first match was played between England and New Zealand women on 5th Aug 2004 and first men’s international T20 was played between Australia and New Zealand.

The concept of the T20 World Cup was introduced in 2007. It was hosted by South Africa and the tournament was played among 10 nations in thirteen days and the Final was played between India and Pakistan.


List of all time ICC T20 Cricket World Cup Winners (2007-2021)

2007 – India
The journey of the Indian side started with a match that was abandoned against Scotland and won the second match with a ball out against Pakistan and is considered as one of the greatest matches in history. Yuvraj Singh also created a record against England by hitting 6 sixes in an over and the Final was played against Pakistan. India won the match by 5 runs and won the first-ever world T20 title.

2009 – Pakistan
The second World Cup was hosted in England and the final was played between the two Asian teams Sri Lanka and Pakistan at the home of cricket Lords and Pakistan won the match by 8 wickets.

2010 – England
The third world took place in West Indies and the Final was played by the strong sides of England and Australia. Craig Kieswetter and Kevin Pietersen led the team to victory and England won the match by 7 wickets and 18 balls remaining.

2012 – West Indies
The world was hosted by Sri Lanka and the final was played between the host nation and West Indies and Darren Sammy was the winning captain as West Indies managed to defend a small target and won the match by 36 runs

2014 – Sri Lanka
Hosted by Bangladesh and the two top-notch Asian teams Sri Lanka and India faced each other in the Final and Sri Lanka got the match by 6 wickets.

2016 – West Indies
India got the opportunity to host the world cup and the Final was played against England and the West Indies where Carlos Braithwaite created history by smashing 4 sixes off the last over and grabbed the unexpected trophy to their home. They won the match by 4 wickets.

The next world cup is going to take place from 17th October in UAE.