Ishan Kishan, India’s wicketkeeper, has been ruled out of the third T20I facing Sri Lanka at Dharamsala on Sunday.
During the second match on Saturday, Lahiru Kumara’s throw knocked the wicketkeeper-batter on the head. Whilst the Sri Lankan fielders gathered around him, Kishan removed his helmet due to the intensity of the pitch. Before getting bowled for a 15-ball 16, Kishan batted for three more deliveries.
Kishan got a precautionary CT scan, as suggested by the team’s medical staff. After a brief time of monitoring for injury at a hospital in Kangra, he was discharged.
“His signs of concussion will be continuously monitored by the BCCI Medical Team. Ishan has been ruled out of the third and final Twenty20 International against Sri Lanka,” the statement released by BCCI said.
Kishan, who had a strike rate of 110 entering into Thursday’s encounter, eventually solved the season’s first conundrum with 89 off 56 deliveries, his greatest T20I score. The left-handed hitter ultimately done justice to his multi-million dollar IPL tag with a blistering innings laced with 10 knocks to the fence and three sixes after failing to capitalise on his starts in the previous white-ball series against West Indies.
India may rely on Mayank Agarwal to start the batting and Sanju Samson to keep wicket Kishan’s absence.
🚨 JUST IN: Ishan Kishan has been ruled out of the third #INDvSL T20I in Dharamsala.
The wicketkeeper-batter was struck on the head by a Lahiru Kumara delivery while batting in the second match.
He will be monitored for signs of concussion. pic.twitter.com/JhdeJe1ILo
— ICC (@ICC) February 27, 2022