Who will captain Kolkata Knight Riders in IPL 2024?

Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) are set for a significant squad overhaul as they gear up for the upcoming Indian Premier League (IPL) 2024 auction. Releasing a dozen players from their roster, the franchise aims to rejuvenate team dynamics after finishing seventh in IPL 2023. The two-time champions, seeking to break their title drought since 2014, are determined to fortify their squad for the forthcoming season.

Shreyas Iyer, absent from the previous season due to injury, is anticipated to assume the leadership mantle in 2024. KKR’s strategic retention includes batting talents such as Rinku Singh and Venkatesh Iyer, augmenting the team’s formidable batting prowess. The twists and turns of IPL 2023 saw KKR facing unexpected challenges when captain Shreyas Iyer suffered a back injury, forcing him out of the tournament. In response to this predicament, the team management entrusted Nitish Rana with the captaincy.


Under Rana’s leadership, KKR secured six victories in the fourteen league games. Evaluating his capable performance, Shreyas Iyer emerges as a potential contender to reclaim the captaincy for the IPL 2024 KKR Team.