Top 5 bowlers with first-over wickets in IPL 

Pacers Bhuvneshwar Kumar and Trent Boult have established themselves as formidable forces in the early stages of matches, be it in international cricket or the IPL. The ability to secure early breakthroughs not only provides an advantage to the fielding team but also puts immense pressure on the batting side, particularly in the fast-paced T20 format.

In the IPL, Bhuvneshwar Kumar of Sunrisers Hyderabad reigns supreme atop the list of first-over wicket-takers, having claimed an impressive 27 scalps in the opening six balls of an innings. Close on his heels is Rajasthan Royals’ Trent Boult, who has amassed 24 wickets in similar circumstances.


The dominance of pacers in the list of first-over wicket-takers underscores their significance, given their frequent role as new ball bowlers across formats. Here’s a breakdown of the top performers in terms of first-over wickets in IPL history:

1. Bhuvneshwar Kumar – 27 wickets in 114 innings
2. Trent Boult* – 24 wickets in 78 innings
3. Praveen Kumar – 15 wickets in 89 innings
4. Zaheer Khan – 14 wickets in 65 innings
5. Deepak Chahar – 13 wickets in 70 innings

As the IPL progresses, fans eagerly anticipate witnessing more impressive displays of skill from these talented pacers as they continue to excel in their craft.