TATA IPL 2023: Top 5 Hattricks in IPL History | Business Upturn

TATA IPL 2023: Top 5 Hattricks in IPL History

Amit Mishra is the only player to take three hat tricks in IPL


One of the most famous lines in sports is that cricket is a gentleman’s game. Having said that, the debate over whether the game belongs to the bowlers or the batters is still unresolved. It is impossible for the answer to be one-sided, as both aspects play an equal role and are equally exciting to observe. On the one hand, there is a run feast; on the other hand, there is the delightful sound of the ball hitting the wooden bat.

Is there anything better than getting three wickets in a row? A hat trick is one of the bowler’s most significant achievements measured by any sportsperson in cricket. Among all IPL teams, the Rajasthan Royals have achieved five hat tricks. In the 2008 season, Lakshmipathy Balaji became the first player in Indian Premier League history to score a hat trick during a match between Chennai Super Kings and Punjab Kings. Amit Mishra holds the IPL record for the most hat-tricks with three. To achieve this feat, he earned hat-tricks in 2008, 2011 and 2013.

From the few examples, tell us that there have been several unique and dramatic dismissals in the Indian Premier League over the years. It is just as crazy as it gets when they follow one after another. It is rare and exciting to witness a cricket hat trick. Clearly, it has a significant impact on the outcome of the game. It is easy for a game to drift away quickly in a tournament like the Indian Premier League when a player delivers an outstanding performance. Bowlers often take hat tricks during innings, which can result in this situation. The opposition team struggles to recover after losing a wicket quickly. Here is a look back at the top five hattricks in the history of the IPL.


Top 5 Hat Tricks in IPL

1: Amit Mishra – The Indian spinner has recorded three hat tricks in the IPL. In 2008, 2011, and 2012, Amit Mishra recorded a hat trick for three teams. He scored a hattrick for Delhi Daredevils against Deccan Chargers in 2008. Mishra scored a hattrick for Deccan Chargers against Kings XI Punjab during the 2011 season. While playing for Sunrisers Hyderabad in 2012, Mishra scored a hat trick against Pune Warriors.

2: Yuvraj Singh – During the same IPL season, the former Indian all-rounder recorded two hattricks. Yuvraj Singh played for Kings XI Punjab (now Punjab Kings) in the 2009 season. Notably, he scored a hattrick against Royal Challengers Bangalore in one match. The left-arm spinner took three wickets for 22 runs. Against Deccan Chargers, Singh scored a hat trick. Three wickets for 13 runs were taken by him this time.


3: Makhaya Ntini – The former South African pacer also recorded a hattrick in the Indian Premier League. In IPL 2008, Ntini represented the Chennai Super Kings. The right-arm horse grabbed a hat trick against the Kolkata Knight Riders. During the match, the Kolkata Knight Riders batted first. The limelight was captured by Ntini’s successive dismissals of Sourav Ganguly, Debabrata Das, and David Hussey. In the match, he took four wickets for 21 runs. In addition, the Chennai Super Kings won the game by three runs.

4: Ajit Chandila – In 2012, Rajasthan Royals’ off-spinner clinched a hattrick against Pune Warriors. The off-spinner struck the Pune Warriors’ top order. In the first over, he dismissed openers Sourav Ganguly and Jesse Ryder on the last two balls. On the first ball of the innings, he rejected Robin Uthappa. The Rajasthan Royals batted first in the match and scored 170-4. Pune Warriors could only manage 125-9 in the second innings and lost by 45 runs. Ajit Chandila took four wickets in the match for 13 runs.

5: Samuel Badree He ranks fifth on this list. Royal Challengers Bangalore’s West Indies spinner scored a hattrick in the 2017 Indian Premier League. Three Mumbai Indian batters were dismissed by Badree, Parthiv Patel, Mitchell McClenaghan, and Rohit Sharma. He crippled MI’s top management. In all, he grabbed four wickets for nine runs in the match. Mumbai Indians won the game by four wickets.