TATA IPL 2022 Stats: CSK edges Mumbai Indians with a fabulous record of winning on last ball

Chennai Super Kings have won eight times off the last ball in a run chase which is most by any team in IPL.

Chennai Super Kings defeated Mumbai Indians at the last ball finish on D.Y Patil stadium on Thursday. With this CSK has won eight times off the last ball in a run chase which is most by any team in IPL. Mumbai Indians have achieved the same feat six times. Rajasthan Royals have done the same four times, whereas Punjab Kings and Royal Challengers Bangalore have achieved victory on the last ball of the match thrice.

On Thursday, In a thriller between CSK and MI. With Dwaine Pretorius and MS Dhoni on the crease, Chennai Super Kings needed 17 runs in the last over. Unadkat bowled an off-cutter yorker to Pretorius on the first delivery of the last over, striking him on the pad. The ball seemed to be pitching outside leg, therefore the umpire called it not out and handed CSK a leg bye run. MI captain Rohit Sharma promptly called DRS, and the batsman was pronounced out with the bowl pitching inline. Dwayne Bravo came in next and took a single to put MS Dhoni on strike. Dhoni smacked clean over the ropes, the third ball of the over, which was in the slot. MSD pulled the slower bouncer over fine leg for a four on the following ball. He took a double on the second last ball of the over with four runs required off the last ball. MS Dhoni hammered a four towards the backward square leg on the last ball to make sure CSK cross the line. CSK triumphed by three wickets, with Dhoni “finishing off in style” once again.

Subscribe to our newsletter
Subscribe to our newsletter
Sign up here to get the latest news delivered directly to your inbox.
You can unsubscribe at any time