IPL 2024: Gujarat Titans captain Shubman Gill practices with father on off-day

The Indian Premier League is fast approaching, and Gujarat Titans, who narrowly missed out on winning the 2023 finals, will undoubtedly be one of the most notable teams this year, having come so close to lifting the trophy for the second time in three years but ultimately falling short.

Among all the teams, GT will stand out as a team that showcased epic performances throughout the 2023 season. While the finals were left to fate, the franchise has made significant changes to its squad for the 2024 season.


Shubman Gill is poised to lead for the first time in the IPL, as Hardik Pandya, the former captain, opted to depart and rejoin his former team, Mumbai Indians, in a lucrative deal to lead. While many fans were surprised by Pandya’s departure from captaincy, there was no hesitation from Gujarat Titans’ camp. The franchise has embraced Shubman as the new captain wholeheartedly.

IPL 2024 Auction: GT probable playing XI, full squad, auction highlights and more

A few days before the Dharamshala Test, Shubman Gill chose not to rest on his laurels. Immediately after securing an epic win against England under Rohit’s captaincy, the young lad returned to Mohali and was seen practicing with his father in the nets.

While the father-son bond was heartwarming to witness, Shubman approached the practice session with seriousness, viewing it not just as family bonding time but as a crucial part of his training regimen. This dedication underscores the determination of the young cricketer.

GT players bought at IPL 2024 auction: Azmatullah Omarzai (Rs. 50 lakh), Umesh Yadav (Rs. 5.80 crore), Shahrukh Khan (Rs. 7.40 crore), Sushant Mishra (Rs. 2.20 crore), Kartik Tyagi (Rs. 60 lakh), Manav Suthar (Rs. 20 lakh), Spencer Johnson (Rs. 10 crore), Robin Minz (3.60 crore).


Wicketkeepers: Mathew Wade (AUS), Wriddiman Saha, Robin Minz.

Batters: Shubman Gill, David Miller (SA), Abhinav Manohar, Kane Williamson (NZ), Sai Sudharsan.

All-rounders: Rashid Khan (AFG), Rahul Tewatia, Jayant Yadav, Vijay Shankar, Azmatullah Omarzai (AFG), Darshan Nalkande, Shahrukh Khan.

Bowlers: Mohammed Shami, Umesh Yadav, Josh Little (IRE), R. Sai Kishore, Mohit Sharma, Noor Ahmad (AFG), Sushant Mishra, Kartik Tyagi, Manav Suthar, Spencer Johnson (AUS).