Ravi Bishnoi just picked up his second wicket of the day, leaving the Kings in a precarious position. With the target of 258 runs, the Kings were already struggling, and now with the wicket of Liam Livingstone, their task has become even harder.
Livingstone was trying to play some big shots but fell to Bishnoi’s flatter googly, missing the slog sweep and getting hit on the pads. The umpire didn’t hesitate to raise his finger, and Livingstone had to depart, with no scope for review.
In a moment of confusion and desperation, Liam Livingstone decided to take the DRS after being given out LBW by the on-field umpire off Ravi Bishnoi’s bowling. However, as soon as he made the gesture for the review, he was already running towards the pavilion, suggesting that he knew he was out and the review would be unsuccessful.
The replays confirmed the on-field decision as the ball had struck Livingstone’s pad directly in front of the stumps, leaving no doubt in the umpire’s mind. It was a curious decision by the Englishman, and it remains to be seen whether it was simply a reflex action or a genuine attempt to overturn the decision.