IPL 2023: Kolkata Knight Riders registers an incredible record at the Chinnaswamy Stadium

On Wednesday, Kolkata Knight Riders emerged victorious over Royal Challengers Bangalore by a margin of 21 runs, marking their return to winning ways in the IPL.

Despite chasing a target of 201 runs, RCB could only manage 179 for 8 in their allotted 20 overs. Varun Chakravarthy was the standout performer for KKR, taking 3 wickets for 27 runs, while Suyash Sharma and Andre Russell also contributed with two wickets each.


Although Virat Kohli played well, scoring 54 runs off 37 balls with six fours, his efforts were in vain as the rest of the RCB batting lineup failed to support him and forge partnerships.

One bright spot for RCB was Mahipal Lomror, who scored 34 runs off 18 balls with three sixes and a four while adding 55 runs with Kohli for the fourth wicket.

KKR’s impact substitute Suyash Sharma also had a good outing, snaffling the wickets of Faf du Plessis and Shahbaz Ahmed inside the powerplay to return with figures of 4-0-30-2.

Russell also contributed to KKR’s victory by dismissing Kohli and Wanindu Hasaranga and taking two wickets for 29 runs.

Not only did Kolkata Knight Riders win the match tonight, but they also continued their streak of consecutive victories since 2016. KKR has a flawless record at the Chinnaswamy stadium since 2016 and has shown remarkable performance against the home team RCB.

RCB vs KKR results in Bangalore since 2016:

2016 – KKR won by five wickets
2017 – KKR won by six wickets
2018 – KKR won by six wickets
2019 – KKR won by five wickets
2023 – KKR won by 21 runs