IPL 2023 Eliminator: Mumbai Indians' fast bowlers shines in victory | Business Upturn

IPL 2023 Eliminator: Mumbai Indians’ fast bowlers shines in victory

In the IPL 2023 Eliminator match held on Wednesday, May 24, Mumbai Indians showcased a dominant performance, defeating Lucknow Super Giants by a massive margin of 81 runs at MA Chidambaram Stadium in Chennai. The standout player of the match was Mumbai Indians’ pacer, Akash Madhwal, who delivered an exceptional bowling spell to propel his team into Qualifier 2.

After Mumbai Indians posted a formidable total of 182 runs on the scoreboard, it was Madhwal who wreaked havoc on the opposition with an astonishing performance. The right-arm pacer scalped an incredible five wickets while conceding only five runs in his 3.3 overs. This remarkable feat not only helped Mumbai Indians secure a place in the next stage of the tournament but also etched Madhwal’s name in the IPL history books as the first bowler to achieve a five-wicket haul in an Eliminator match.

Madhwal’s incredible display of bowling skills also saw him equal a long-standing record for the least number of runs conceded in a five-wicket haul. The previous record was held by Anil Kumble, who achieved figures of 5/5 against Rajasthan Royals in 2009. This milestone further adds to Madhwal’s remarkable performance and solidifies his place among the elite bowlers in the IPL.

While Madhwal’s achievement in the Eliminator match is commendable, it is worth noting that the record for the best bowling spell by a Mumbai Indians bowler still belongs to Alzarri Joseph. The West Indian cricketer, who represented Mumbai Indians in 2019, delivered a sensational performance, claiming remarkable figures of 6/12 against Sunrisers Hyderabad.

Madhwal’s exceptional performance in the IPL 2023 Eliminator match places him in the company of legendary bowlers who have left their mark in the history of Mumbai Indians. Fans can explore the list to discover other iconic names who have delivered outstanding bowling performances while representing the Mumbai Indians franchise.