IPL 2022 final match highlights: Debutant Gujarat Titans bag their first IPL trophy; beats Rajasthan Royals by 7 wickets

Gujarat Titans’ Shubman Gill and David Miller lead them to their first ever IPL victory at the Narendra Modi Stadium.


Hardik Pandya led Gujarat Titans defeated Rajasthan Royals by 7 wickets to win their maiden title at Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad on Sunday ( May 9).

The toss was won by Sanju Samson, who chose to bat. Yashasvi Jaiswal’s 22-run cameo helped RR get off to a good start. However, the young left-hander took one too several chances but was defeated by Yash Dayal.

In the powerplay overs, Jos Buttler and Sanju Samson guaranteed RR did not suffer any more setbacks.

Ferguson produced the fastest delivery of the match on the last ball of the fifth over, leaving Jos Buttler baffled at the pace with which the ball went past him.

Jos Buttler took full advantage of Lockie Ferguson’s ferocious speed to score multiple boundaries. Gujarat were keen to just get the better of Buttler, who was firmly rooted in the middle. Rajasthan Royals have bounced back impressively from the early setback.

Jos Buttler scored the most runs for Rajasthan once again, but that wasn’t enough this time — 39 runs.

Sanju Samson made it perfectly clear that he wanted to find boundaries at frequent intervals. He opened his account with a daring shot over long-on for a boundary.

Samson made a few nice strokes before succumbing to Hardik while attempting an aggressive pull shot. Samson’s time with the bat did not go well, as he was dismissed for just 14 runs. Samson tried to pull the clean edge delivery from the Gujarat Titans skipper, but it touched the edge of the bat and was caught by R Sai Kishore.

Trent Boult, the Kiwi bowler, hit R Sai Kishore for a six and attempted to repeat the trick on the next ball, but miscued it, and Rahul Tewatia took an easy catch in the 18th over.

The Royals beat Royal Challengers Bangalore in Qualifier 2 on Friday, taking the long way to the final. Jos Buttler, the Orange Cap holder, led Sanju Samson’s team with 824 runs, four hundreds, and four fifties thus far in the campaign. Yuzvendra Chahal, the purple cap holder, was also in the RR lineup, with 27 wickets.

The toss was the only thing that wasn’t in the favour of Hardik Pandya’s men. They were invited by Rajasthan Royals to bowl first in this crucial match. It was not a great start for Gujarat Titans when their batters came to bat. Indian pacer Prasidh Krishna sent opening better Wriddhiman Saha back to the pavilion as the opener could only score 5 runs in the final game of the season.

After the wicket of Saha, Gujarat’s innings were slowed down by RR bowlers. New Zealand pacer Trent Boult also bowled a maiden over in the game. He didn’t give away a single run in the 3rd over when Shubman Gill was at the crease. Later, in the 5th over, Mathew Wade was dismissed by Trent Boult. It wasn’t a good powerplay for the table-toppers Gujarat Titans. Skipper Hardik Pandya came to bat in the 5th over and did well to stabilise the inning. He and Shubman Gill completed a 50-run partnership and it came at the right time for GT. At the end of 10 overs, GT were 54-2.

Hardik Pandya smashes a consecutive four and a six in the 11th overs bowled by Ravichandran Ashwin. Puts Gujarat ahead in the race of chasing a low-score total by Rajasthan Royals.

Yuzvendra Chahal unsettles Hardik Pandya against his off-spin that removes the GT skipper to bring in David Miller. Chahal bags a purple cap for the 2022 IPL season with this wicket.

Miller pulls Ashwin’s off-break for a six.

Miller pulls Prasidh Krishna for two consecutive fours and nears Gujarat to IPL 2022 finals.

Gujarat Titans’ David Miller has been a phenomenal add on to Gujarat Titans. What a stage to come back when Gujarat Titans called him to finish matches; demanding to end his drought of runs.

Shubhman Gill finishes off the match with six to help Gujarat Titans win their maiden IPL Title. What a knock by Shubhman Gill and credit to Hardik Pandya’s captaincy. Gujarat Titans are the debutants; They are the champions!