DC in IPL 2023: Best batsmen in Delhi Capitals

The Indian Premier League is set to gear up for its 16th season but the search for trophy still continues as Delhi Capitals hope to get better after a tough loss last year.

Noticeably, after the franchise owners decided to change the team’s name from Delhi Daredevils to Delhi Capitals, the team surprisingly showed improvement but is that enough?


After their regular skipper Rishabh Pant’s horrific accident, which keeps him away from cricket for at least a year or two, the franchise owners have put their faith on Australian veteran David Warner and more fortunately, have got back Dada a.k.a Sourav Ganguly’s guidance.

The team is eager to claim their first IPL championship. But for that, they need to be consistent with their performances. The team has got some big match-winners who can turn the game on their own.

Newly appointed David Warner has taken over the responsibilities from injured Rishabh Pant who has been ruled out from cricket for an indefinite period of time, owing to injury. Warner is not only handling the responsibilities as a leader but to be one of the finest opening batsman, Warner has to step up his game for someone challenging. The importance of the left-hander increases as a result. Sunrisers Hyderabad won their first IPL championship under his leadership in 2016. He must do the same with the Delhi Capitals at this time. In the last season as well, he was the team’s top run scorer. With five half-centuries and a strike rate of 150.52, Warner scored 432 runs in 12 innings.

Prithvi Shaw, the right-hander is renowned for his forceful hitting, which he has displayed for DC over the last few seasons. He always gets the squad off to a fast start, whether they are batting first or second. Shaw scored 283 runs in 10 innings at 28.30 with an impressive strike rate of 152.97.

Rovman Powell has registered himself to one of the dangerous batsmen of all time. To take a look back at his dominating performance against Rajasthan Royals – Rovman and team needed 35 runs off the final over and RR put their faith on Obed McCoy. The match was lost by DC, but the massive hattrick of three powerful sixes gave a trust note to him by the franchise. The first three balls he hit were sixes. He failed to win them the game, but he did signal his entry into the league. The winner for DC in the upcoming edition will be Powell. And his capacity for power hits makes him the ideal candidate for that position

DC Full Squad:

David Warner, Prithvi Shaw, Ripal Patel, Rovman Powell, Sarfaraz Khan, Yash Dhull, Mitchell Marsh, Lalit Yadav, Axar Patel, Anrich Nortje, Chetan Sakariya, Kamlesh Nagarkoti, Khaleel Ahmed, Lungi Ngidi, Mustafizur Rahman, Aman Khan, Kuldeep Yadav, Praveen Dubey, Vicky Ostwal, Ishant Sharma, Phil Salt, Mukesh Kumar, Manish Pandey, Rilee Rossouw.