IPL 2022: 10 teams to be divided into two groups

10 teams divided into two groups ahead of ipl 2022, they are divided on the basis of championships won and no of finals played by the respective teams


The format of the Indian Premier League in 2022 to be changed.The ten teams will be grouped into five groups of five, with 14 matches per team. Which is because of the inclusion of of the new two franchises.The league will begin on March 26th, 2022, and conclude on May 29th, 2022. In Mumbai and Pune, a total of 70 league matches will be played at four international grade stadiums.

The framework is similar to that of the 2011 season, which included two new teams: the Pune Warriors India and the Kochi Tuskers Kerala.

The BCCI categorised the 10 teams into Groups A and B depending on the number of IPL finals each franchise has won, followed by the finals each franchise has played.

Mumbai Indians, Kolkata knight riders, Rajasthan Royals, Delhi Capitals, and Lucknow Supergiants are in Group A.

Chennai Super Kings, Sunrisers Hyderabad, Royal Challengers Bengaluru, Punjab Kings, and Gujarat Titans will compete in Group B.