India's top batsmen who hold phenomenal record in T20I against South Africa | Business Upturn

India’s top batsmen who hold phenomenal record in T20I against South Africa

Indian captain Rohit Sharma leads the list of highest run scorers with 362 runs in 13 T20 Internationals against South Africa.


India and South Africa have played 16 T20 matches so far, including the first T20I game of the ongoing five-match series in Delhi. India has won nine of the 16 games, while South Africa has won seven.

In India, South Africa has played two T20 series. The first was held in October of 2015. South Africa won the series 2-0 after defeating India in both Dharamsala and Cuttack games. The third, which was supposed to take place in Kolkata, was called off.

In September of 2018, the second T20 series was held. This match was finished in a 1-1 tie. The first T20I was called off before a ball was bowled. India defeated South Africa by seven wickets in the second T20I match at Mohali. South Africa squared the series with a nine-wicket victory in the third and final ODI in Bengaluru.

Let’s take a look at a few of the top Indian batsmen who have notched up strong stats against South Africa in T20I matches.

With 362 runs in 13 T20 International matches against South Africa, Rohit Sharma tops the list of most run scorers for India. Suresh Raina, who has 339 runs, Virat Kohli, who has 254 runs, and Shikhar Dhawan, who has 233 runs, are all behind him.

Rohit Sharma’s 106 at Dharamsala on October 2, 2015, is indeed the highest score by a batsman in a T20I match between India and South Africa. Suresh Raina too has achieved a century, with a score of 101 in 2010.

Back to the ongoing series, many senior players, including Rohit Sharma and Virat Kohli, have been rested in the T20I series to have them fresh for the England tour in July, thus the Indian team for the series against South Africa had a fresh look in the first match on Thursday at Arun Jaitley stadium. South Africa chased down a 212 target in Delhi, their highest victorious chase in the T20I format, to defeat India and take a 1-0 series lead.