India won the series by 2-1 despite losing the third T20I against South Africa

India lost by 49 runs against South Africa on Thursday, yet won the series by 2-1.

India made a historic win against South Africa in the three-match T20Is series despite losing the third T20I match. The host defeated South Africa in a T20I series for the first time in India.

Despite winning the series, India lost to South Africa in the third T20 match by 49 runs. India did win the toss but South Africa was dominant against the host despite losing their skipper Bavuma (3) in the power play.


It was Quinton De Kock (68) and Rilee Rossouw (100*) who bashed the Indian bowlers. Where De Kock scored his 13th half-century, Rossouw played a terrific innings scoring 100 not out of just 48 deliveries with a stunning strike rate of 208. 33

The Indian side on the other hand lost its skipper Rohit Sharma for a duck. The string of low scores continued when India lost Shreyas Iyer (1), SuryaKumar Yadav (8) and Azar Patel (9).

Where Rabada struck one big wicket of Rohit Sharma, Maharaj, Parnell and Ngidi delivered with two wickets each. The right-arm Dwaine Pretorius struck three wickets to finish the Indian batting lineup.

India will now head to Australia on October 6 for the ICC big event. India will play two practice matches against Australia and New Zealand before the ICC T20 World Cup 2022 starts.