India pacer Mukesh Kumar released from squad for 3rd test against England

Indian cricket team’s fast bowler Mukesh Kumar has been released from the squad for the third Test match against England in Rajkot. The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) revealed the reason behind this decision, stating that Kumar will join his Ranji Trophy team, Bengal, for their upcoming fixture before rejoining Team India in Ranchi.

India won the toss and opted to bat first against England in the third Test match of the five-game series at the Saurashtra Cricket Association Stadium in Rajkot. Mohammed Siraj made a return to the playing XI while Mukesh Kumar’s departure paved the way for his participation in Bengal’s next Ranji Trophy match.


Ahead of the third Test, debutants Sarfaraz Khan and Dhruv Jurel were handed their Test caps. English skipper Ben Stokes marked his 100th Test match, while India’s star spinner Ravichandran Ashwin aimed for his 500th Test wicket. James Anderson also sought to achieve the milestone of 700 wickets.

The series is currently tied at 1-1, with India securing victory in the second Test at Visakhapatnam after a 28-run loss in the first Test at Hyderabad.

During the toss, India skipper Rohit Sharma confirmed the absence of Axar Patel and Mukesh Kumar from the playing XI for the third Test. He also announced the inclusion of Mohammed Siraj and Ravindra Jadeja.

“We’re going to bat first. We’ve made some changes, made four changes. Some injuries and some guys coming back from the last game. Two debutants. Siraj and Jadeja are back. Axar Patel and Mukesh Kumar miss out,” stated Rohit Sharma.

The English captain, Ben Stokes, revealed that Mark Wood would replace Shoaib Bashir in the squad for the visitors.

**England XI:** Zak Crawley, Ben Duckett, Ollie Pope, Joe Root, Jonny Bairstow, Ben Stokes (C), Ben Foakes (Wk), Rehan Ahmed, Tom Hartley, Mark Wood, James Anderson.

**India XI:** Yashasvi Jaiswal, Rohit Sharma (C), Shubman Gill, Rajat Patidar, Sarfaraz Khan, Ravindra Jadeja, Dhruv Jurel (Wk), Ravichandran Ashwin, Kuldeep Yadav, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Siraj.