India Digs Another T20I Record After A Series Win Against Australia

India became the only team in the ICC Men’st T20I to win 21 matches in a calendar year.

India sealed the T20 series in Hyderabad after defeating Australia in a thrilling run chase decider match on Sunday.

Despite some heroic performances from  Australia’s Tim David (54) and Cameron Green (52), India continued to keep their record for the run chase in the T20 Internationals.


Cameron Green

The 2-1 series win also claimed India’s  21st T20 International win in a calendar year, the most ever recorded by a team in men’s T20Is. India surpassed Pakistan who had 20 wins registered until now in the year 2021.

The young all-rounder, Cameron Green gave Aussies a fiery start scoring his half-century in just 19 balls. The visitors looked firm to score a giant total.

However, the Aussies lost their senior players Steve Smith (9) and Glean Maxwell (6) in quick succession.

In the second innings, India looked in a difficult spot after losing both the openers Rohit & KL Rahul which reduced India to 30/2.

However, the tables started to turn when King Kohli (63) and Suryakumar Yadav (69) added a hundred-run partnership bringing India back on track.

SuryaKumar Yadav (left), Virat Kohli (right)

Sky scored his half-century in just 29 balls. His accelerating innings of 69 off  36 balls included 5 fours and 5 biggies with an impressive strike rate of 191.67.

Whereas the former Indian skipper who is coming back in his form scored 63 off 48 deliveries which had 3 fours and 4 massive sixes amongst which one came during the deciding over of the match when India required 11 of the last 6 balls.

However, the winning boundary came from Hardik Pandya’s (25*) edge which confirmed India a record-making series win in the T20 International.