IND Vs SL: India clean sweeps SL, Iyer powers third straight fifty

Avesh Khan and Mohammad Siraj dominated Sri Lanka’s top order to restrict Sri Lanka at 146. Shreyas Iyer smashed another half-century to take India home.


Sri Lankan innings started with Avesh Khan and Mohammad Siraj blowing away Sri Lanka’s top order. At the end of 12 overs, Sri Lanka was at a score of 60 runs at the loss of 5 wickets. The warrior spirit of Sri Lankan Captain Dasun Shanaka helped the team to reach a respectable total of 146. Shanaka played a brilliant knock of 74* runs in 38 balls, including nine fours and two sixes.

For India, Avesh Khan and Mohammad Siraj bowled a great spell. Harshal, Kuldeep, and Bishnoi gave a lot of trouble to the SL team.

Despite losing Rohit’s wicket in the second over, India was able to get a great start. Shreyas Iyer was the hero of the match again as he scored 73* runs in 45 balls, including nine boundaries and a six.

Jadeja again played a finisher innings for India, scoring 22* runs in 15 balls. Shreyas Iyer was awarded man of the series for his three consecutive half-centuries.

Rohit Sharma scripted another record in this game as he became the most-capped player in T20I cricket. Rohit is the only player from India who has played more than 100 T20I. He broke the record of Shoaib Malik for the most capped player in this match. Indian legends MS Dhoni and Virat Kohli have played 98 and 97 T20I respectively and are behind Rohit Sharma in this list.

Subscribe to our newsletter
Subscribe to our newsletter
Sign up here to get the latest news delivered directly to your inbox.
You can unsubscribe at any time