IND vs NZ: Shubman Gill gets close to breaking this massive record, surpassing Virat Kohli and Shikhar Dhawan

Indian openers Rohit Sharma and Shubman Gill are off to a good start. In the ODI in Hyderabad, Team India captain Rohit Sharma chose to bat after winning the toss. The hosts have substituted Shradul Thakur in place of Umran Malik. The inclusions of Hardik Pandya, Surya Kumar Yadav, and Ishan Kishan in the playing XI today were to be expected. Ishan and SKY will both bat in the middle order with Pandya. Washington Sundar was the other addition to the Indian XI since Axar Patel was already rested for the series.

India (Playing XI): Rohit Sharma(c), Shubman Gill, Virat Kohli, Ishan Kishan(w), Suryakumar Yadav, Hardik Pandya, Washington Sundar, Shardul Thakur, Kuldeep Yadav, Mohammed Siraj, Mohammed Shami


The in-form opener is close to surpassing Shikhar Dhawan and Kohli’s record in the 50-over format. The two-time world champions’ seasoned opener Dhawan and former captain Kohli are tied for fastest batters to 1000 runs in ODIs. In 24 innings, Kohli and Dhawan accomplished the unique feat. In 18 ODI innings, opener Gill has scored 894 runs in cricket. Gill can now break the unique record in the New Zealand series.