IND vs NZ: New Zealand announces ODI squad for 2023 series

In order to manage the workload of the players and support staff, New Zealand Cricket has confirmed that regular skipper Kane Williamson and Head Coach Gary Stead will not be touring India in the early part of next year. NZC revealed that Tom Latham will take over as captain of the ODI team in India in place of Williamson while announcing the squads for the upcoming tours to Pakistan and India.

After the Pakistan ODIs, Tim Southee, a seasoned fast bowler, and bowling coach Shane Jurgensen will also return home in addition to Williamson and Stead. Williamson and Southee will be replaced in the team for the India tour by Mark Chapman and Jacob Duffy, and Luke Ronchi will take over as head coach in Stead’s absence.


Ish Sodhi and Henry Nicholls have been called back to the ODI squad for both tours. All-rounder Henry Shipley, who has never played for his country, received his first call-up after making an impression on the domestic circuit. As he continues to recover from a back injury, Kyle Jamieson, who last played in June of this year, is still not available for selection.

ODI squad: Kane Williamson (C – only for Pakistan ODIs), Tom Latham (C – India ODIs), Finn Allen, Michael Bracewell, Mark Chapman (India ODIs only), Devon Conway, Jacob Duffy (India ODIs only), Lockie Ferguson, Matt Henry, Adam Milne, Daryl Mitchell, Henry Nicholls, Glenn Phillips, Mitchell Santner, Henry Shipley, Ish Sodhi, Tim Southee (Pakistan ODIs only)