IND vs NZ 1st ODI: Ishan Kishan, Shardul Thakur come in as India opts to bat first | Business Upturn

IND vs NZ 1st ODI: Ishan Kishan, Shardul Thakur come in as India opts to bat first


India has won the toss and opted to bat first in the 1st ODI and it would be exciting to watch what team does the hosts play after dominating Sri Lanka in the recently concluded white-ball series.

Ishan Kishan, Shardul Thakur have come in after not playing the Sri Lanka series, whereas India benches Umran Malik while Shami and Siraj continue to handle the pacer unit.

Washington Sundar gets a chance along with Hardik Pandya who did not play the 3rd ODI against Sri Lanka.

India (Playing XI): Rohit Sharma(c), Shubman Gill, Virat Kohli, Ishan Kishan(w), Suryakumar Yadav, Hardik Pandya, Washington Sundar, Shardul Thakur, Kuldeep Yadav, Mohammed Siraj, Mohammed Shami

New Zealand (Playing XI): Finn Allen, Devon Conway, Henry Nicholls, Daryl Mitchell, Tom Latham(w/c), Glenn Phillips, Michael Bracewell, Henry Shipley, Mitchell Santner, Lockie Ferguson, Blair Tickner

Tom Latham: We would have bowled first. Looks a good surface. They tend to be pretty good in India. We are missing a couple of key guys from the Pakistan series, but it’s an opportunity for the other guys. We love coming to India and experiencing all that the country has to offer. Most of the squad has pretty much played a good number of games. Three seamers and two spinners today.

Rohit Sharma: We will bat first. Looks a good pitch, little dry. We want to make sure we want to bowl under lights and defend score. We did well against Sri Lanka, but this is a different challenge. Important for us to keep the momentum going. The spirit in the team is really good. Three changes. Hardik is back, Shardul is back. SKY and Ishan are playing as well.