IND vs AUS 2nd ODI Live: Australia elects to field in high-stakes ODI against India

Australia, captained by Steve Smith, has won the toss and decided to field

Australia, captained by Steve Smith, has won the toss and decided to field in the 2nd ODI game of this series against India. The decision to bowl was influenced by the warm conditions and the team’s preference to chase a target.

Both teams have made some changes to their lineups. KL Rahul, leading the Indian side, expressed that they too would have preferred to bowl first due to the size of the ground. India has made one change, resting Jasprit Bumrah and bringing in Prasidh Krishna.


Australia’s Steve Smith mentioned that they are looking forward to chasing and trying out a different combination. Australia has made several changes to their lineup.

The pitch report suggests that the boundaries are relatively short on the side, and the surface, while a bit drier than the last match, is consistent and hard. A high-scoring game is anticipated, with spinners likely to come into play as the match progresses.

Additionally, it was revealed that Jasprit Bumrah did not travel with the team to Indore for this ODI as he has been given a short break to visit his family. Fast bowler Mukesh Kumar has joined the team as his replacement, and Bumrah is expected to rejoin the team for the final ODI in Rajkot.

Steve Smith expressed confidence in his recovery from injury and his team’s familiarity with Indian conditions, emphasizing their readiness to adapt to different pitch types.

Australia (Playing XI): David Warner, Matthew Short, Steven Smith(c), Marnus Labuschagne, Josh Inglis, Alex Carey(w), Cameron Green, Sean Abbott, Adam Zampa, Josh Hazlewood, Spencer Johnson

India (Playing XI): Shubman Gill, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Shreyas Iyer, KL Rahul(w/c), Ishan Kishan, Suryakumar Yadav, Ravindra Jadeja, Ravichandran Ashwin, Shardul Thakur, Mohammed Shami, Prasidh Krishna