IND v ENG: BCCI announces Rohit Sharma led-Indian squad for test match against England

India will play England in the fifth and final Test match of the series, which was postponed last year owing to a Covid-19 outbreak in the Indian camp.

The BCCI has named the Indian squad for Sunday’s last Test match against England. Cheteshwar Pujara, who has been in outstanding form in the County Championship, returns to a full-strength side led by Rohit Sharma.

The All-India Senior Selection Committee has selected senior player Cheteshwar Pujara in a 17-member Test team for the fifth postponed Test against England, which will be played at Edgbaston, Birmingham, from July 1 to 5.

India had withdrawn without performing the series’ final Test match owing to a Covid-19 pandemic in 2021, but had vowed to finish the series in 2022.

Shreyas Iyer was picked by India following a brilliant series against Sri Lanka in which he single-handedly saved the squad in Bangalore. He may perhaps take the position of Rahane and give India an entirely new perspective.

Test Squad: Rohit Sharma (C), KL Rahul (VC), Shubman Gill, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, Hanuma Vihari, Cheteshwar Pujara, Rishabh Pant (wk), KS Bharat (wk), R Jadeja, R Ashwin, Shardul Thakur, Mohd Shami, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohd Siraj, Umesh Yadav, Prasidh Krishna.

Subscribe to our newsletter
Subscribe to our newsletter
Sign up here to get the latest news delivered directly to your inbox.
You can unsubscribe at any time