ICC World Cup 2023 Prize Money Breakdown Revealed as India Tops Points Table

As the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup 2023 gears up for its grand finale on November 19 at the Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad, the spotlight shifts to the substantial prize money awaiting the victorious teams. The coveted trophy comes with a hefty reward, as the winner of the tournament is set to claim a staggering US$4 million. This substantial prize pool of US$10 million will be distributed among the deserving teams in the closing ceremony.

In the race for cricket glory, the runners-up will secure a commendable US$2 million, while the teams that bow out in the semi-finals will each receive US$800,000. Beyond the podium finishers, every team that triumphs in the league matches will be duly rewarded. The six teams that do not progress to the semi-finals will receive a noteworthy sum of US$100,000 each, highlighting the inclusive nature of the prize distribution. Additionally, the victors of each group stage match will pocket US$40,000.


Here’s a comprehensive breakdown of the ICC World Cup 2023 prize money in both US dollars and its equivalent in Indian Rupees:

– Winners: US$4,000,000 (Approx. INR 33.29 crore)
– Runners-up: US$2,000,000 (Approx. INR 16.64 crore)
– Losing Semi-Finalists (2): US$800,000 each (Approx. INR 6.6 crore)
– Teams Eliminated after Group Stage (6): US$100,000 each (Approx. INR 83 Lakhs)
– Winner of Each Group Stage Match (45): US$40,000 each (Approx. INR 33 Lakhs)

Shifting the focus to the points table, the unbeaten India Cricket Team has dominated the league stage, claiming the top spot with a flawless record of 9 wins in 9 games. South Africa secured the second position with 14 points, while Australia, also with 14 points, secured the third spot. New Zealand, with 10 points, clinched the fourth position on the World Cup Points Table.

The upcoming semi-final clashes are eagerly anticipated:

– India vs New Zealand: Nov 15, Wednesday, Mumbai
– South Africa vs Australia: Nov 16, Thursday, Kolkata