ICC unveils schedule for 2024 Under-19 Cricket World Cup in Sri Lanka | Business Upturn

ICC unveils schedule for 2024 Under-19 Cricket World Cup in Sri Lanka

Cricket enthusiasts worldwide are gearing up for the much-anticipated ICC Under-19 Cricket World Cup 2024, scheduled to take place in Sri Lanka after an 18-year hiatus. The event, which promises to be a showcase of young talent, will run from January 13 to February 4, 2024, spanning 23 days of thrilling cricket action.

Colombo, the capital city of Sri Lanka, will play host to this prestigious tournament across five diverse venues. The ICC’s 15th edition of the Under-19 Cricket World Cup will feature sixteen teams vying for the coveted trophy, competing in a total of 41 matches.


Eleven full-member teams have earned direct qualifications into the competition, while an additional five teams secured their spots through rigorous regional qualifiers. These qualifiers witnessed Namibia, Scotland, USA, Nepal, and New Zealand earning their tickets to the tournament.

The tournament’s opening match will see the host nation, Sri Lanka, take on Zimbabwe, setting the stage for an exciting start. Two more matches are slated for the same day, setting the tone for a thrilling competition.

This edition introduces a revamped format where the top-performing teams from the group stages will advance to a Super Six stage. Here, two groups of six teams each will lock horns to determine the semi-finalists, adding a layer of competitiveness and intrigue to the tournament.

Group A: India, Bangladesh, Ireland, USA
Group B: England, South Africa, West Indies, Scotland
Group C: Australia, Sri Lanka, Zimbabwe, Namibia
Group D: Afghanistan, Pakistan, New Zealand, Nepal

The Under-19 World Cup will be played across five prestigious venues: P. Sara Oval, Colombo Cricket Club, Nondescripts Cricket Club, Singhalese Sports Club, and the R Premadasa International Cricket Stadium. The latter will serve as the venue for the semi-finals and the grand final, ensuring that cricket fans witness the pinnacle of youth cricket at this iconic location.

The ICC U19 Men’s Cricket World Cup has a rich history of introducing the world to future cricketing superstars. The likes of Virat Kohli, Steve Smith, Kane Williamson, and Angelo Mathews all made their initial marks on the global stage through this tournament. As the 2024 event unfolds across 41 thrilling matches, cricket enthusiasts can anticipate discovering the next generation of cricketing prodigies.


January 13: Sri Lanka vs Zimbabwe, New Zealand vs Nepal, England vs Scotland

January 14: Bangladesh vs India, Australia vs Namibia, South Africa vs West Indies

January 15: Pakistan vs Afghanistan, Ireland vs USA,

January 16: South Africa vs England, Sri Lanka vs South Africa

January 17: Nepal vs Pakistan, West Indies vs Scotland, Namibia vs Zimbabwe

January 18: India vs USA, Afghanistan vs New Zealand, Bangladesh vs Ireland

January 19: Zimbabwe vs Australia, England vs West Indies

January 20: India vs Ireland, Scotland vs South Africa, Afghanistan vs Nepal

January 21: Pakistan vs New Zealand, Sri Lanka vs Namibia, USA vs Bangladesh

January 23: A4 vs D4, B4 vs C4

January 24: A1 vs D2, C2 vs B3, C1 vs B2

January 25: D3 vs A2, C3 vs B1, D1 vs A3

January 26: B3 vs C1

January 27: A1 vs D3, D2 vs A3, B1 vs C2

January 28: B2 vs C3, D1 vs A2

January 30: Semi-final 1 (AD1 vs BC2)

February 1: Semi-final 2 (BC1 vs AD2)_

February 4: Final