ICC provides major throwback to finals of T20 World Cup held on International Women’s Day last year

Providing a major throwback to last year when Australian women lift the ICC Women’s T20 Cricket World Cup on International Women’s Day, the ICC official Twitter handle posted a video revealing the Aussie dugout and the crowded stadium after the win.

The defending champions Australia claimed its fifth Women’s T20 World Cup title after defeating India by 85 runs in the finals at the Melbourne Cricket Ground.


The ICC tweeted – ‘That winning feeling. Inside the dugout the moment @AusWomenCricket won the @T20WorldCup on International Women’s Day. #IWD2021”

On the occasion of International Women’s Day, close to 86,000 audiences attended the match in the MCG. With a breathtaking batting performance by Alyssa Healy who belted 75 off 39 balls including a half-century off just 30 balls, setting a record for the fastest 50 in an ICC final.

Healy and Beth Mooney (78 not out from 54 deliveries) shared a 115 run opening partnership helping Australia to score 184-4 at the end of 20 overs.

In reply, India suffered at the hands of Australia’s fielding, losing four early wickets for 30 runs in a total of 99 in 19.1 overs.

Australia took its chances as Shafali Verma fell to a sharp chance by wicket-keeper Healy in the start. To add trouble, Jemima Rodrigues (0) and Smrithi Mandhana (11) also departed cheaply and Taniya Bhatia retired hurt after a blow to the neck following an attempted sweep.

Even Indian skipper Harmanpreet Kaur was caught at deep square-leg for seven as spinner Jess Jonassen made a huge breakthrough to claim her second wicket.

Seamer Megan Schutt and spinner Jess Jonassen claimed 4-18 and 3-20, respectively to help Australia defeat India in the T20 World Cup finals last year.